Angkor Wat
Angkor Wat

For the past two years, I became fascinated with Cambodia, its rich culture, people, religion, cuisine, the story behind every temple and everything about it. I dream of getting to this place as part of my bucket list. On the other hand, I always wanted to go backpacking (solo to be exact); in my entire life, I never tried traveling solo except for some work related stuffs. I want to know the excitement solo backpackers experience as they land their foot on a foreign land and experience what the place has to offer.

These two dreams came into reality this month, as a birthday gift to myself; why not make something unique, why not pursing a dream and trying to taste life in different perspective. As the start of this journey, I have the ball game; I will begin my backpacking adventure (at least for now, I dont need to get the approval of anybody just to pursue this trip… especially if that “anybody” does not understand my crave for nature and culture).

Cambodia I am ready
Cambodia I am ready

Siem Reap is a tourist friendly place. I love the laidback life, I admire the simplicity of the people, I long for the warmth welcome of tuktuk drivers and sales lady in the night market, I salute how they preserve their culture, I how they take god care of their environment and value humanity. As a backpacker I got to appreciate small things unlike if I am with someone, I rather focus on the person I am with. I got a chance to meet other foreigners who share the same passion with me, got to interact with locals and meet fellow Filipinos who is seeking for real adventure.

I never regret choosing Cambodia as my first solo backpacking adventure. My plan goes the way I wanted and I think this is the peck of being solo. I dont need to consider the need of anybody. Even I am on my own I can get to be happy. Traveling is finding happiness from within.

From now on, I will start to plan my backpacking adventure. tripadvisor, lonely planet and other blogs of solo backpackers became my bestfriend. I think there are three things I love to do: fall in love, fall out of love and go travel the world. ♥

I would also thank God for my life and letting me savor life.
Till my next destination.

Kmer's children
Kmer’s children
Cambodia's Old City : Beng Melea
Cambodia’s Old City : Beng Melea
Beautiful Architecture
Beautiful Architecture
Bayon Temple
Bayon Temple
Exploring Beng Melea
Exploring Beng Melea
Leave a Reply

